Share on Pinterest

By default, only people in your friend list can chat with you over Snapchat and only they can watch your ‘stories’. You will receive the notification but you won’t be able to see the snap unless you add them to friends list. But you can customize the privacy settings on Snapchat for chat and stories, separately. Here’s how you do it.

How to Change chat settings

  1. Tap at the top of your camera screen.
  2. Tap  in the top right-hand corner of your Profile screen.

snapchat privacy_fig1.1

  1. Scroll down to the ‘Who Can…’ and tap ‘Send Me Snaps‘.

snapchat privacy_fig1.2

  1. Tap ‘My Friends‘ or ‘Everyone‘ to update who can send you Snaps.
  2. Tap the back button to save your selection.

 

snapchat privacy_fig1.3

How to change stories settings

  1. Tap at the top of your camera screen.
  2. Tap in the top right-hand corner of your Profile screen.
  3. Scroll down to the ‘Who Can…’ and tap ‘View My Story‘.

snapchat privacy_fig2.1

  1. Tap ‘My Friends‘ or ‘Everyone‘ to update who can view your Story. Tap ‘Custom‘ to block specific friends from viewing your Story.
  2. Tap the back button to save your selection.

snapchat privacy_fig2.2 

Please note: if you select ‘Everyone’, even Snapchatters that you have not added will be able to send you Snaps and watch your stories.

 

Share on Pinterest